Point Break – the trailer

by filmfookingcrazy

When I initially heard that Point Break was being remade I did have a kind of glimmer of hope that it would be half-decent. By half-decent I mean, close enough to its original to stay quirky, but adapted successfully for a contemporary age – keeping in tact the messages and themes of community – and consumerism – that Katheryn Bigelow’s triumphant feature encompassed.

Now, I have only seen trailer number one, but it isn’t looking too promising from where I stand. Boasting a pompous budget and startling effects, the concept seems to of changed from small town surfing and local bank robbing to the likes of Interpol, globe-trotting and unrealistic stunts.

Development is obviously integral when it comes to adaptations, but the trailer suggests Warner Bros haven’t just caught on to the success of the original and tried to re-create that, but quite simply taken an already acceptable narrative and run away with it losing, in the process, the essence of the original.

It’s 100 percent too early to judge the entire feature – and trust me, I want to like it- but for now, I approach with a little caution. The mass market will love it. Fans of the original? Perhaps not so much.

